MK Award Foundation

The MK Award Foundation, based in Rotterdam, is an initiative of a small group of artists and friends, all closely related to the former MKgalerie Rotterdam/Berlin of owners Emmo Grofsmid (1951-2011) and Karmin Kartowikromo (1948-2011). They sadly died on June 6th 2011 in a car crash, driving from Rotterdam to Berlin. In the first weeks after their deaths, plans were made to keep their artistic legacy alive. Thus, MK Award Foundation was officially established in Rotterdam on December 23, 2011.


Board MK Award Foundation:

Hans Wilschut, visual artist; chairman

Guus Vreeburg, art historian; secretary

Willem Besselink, visual artist; treasurer

Serge Game, visual artist; member

Gritta Ewald, member


Advisory board MK Award Foundation:

  • Lex ter Braak, director Jan van Eyck Academy Maastricht; former director The Netherlands Foundation for Visual Arts, Design and Architecture (‘Fonds BKVB’)
  • Guus Broos, chairman Dutch Galleries Association (‘Nederlandse Galerie Associatie’)
  • Jason Coburn, visual artist; curator
  • Sjarel Ex, director Museum Boijmans van Beuningen Rotterdam
  • Ditty Ketting, visual artist
  • Jeroen Princen, partner Ploum Lodder Princen; art collector
  • Alexander Ramselaar, board member C.o.C.A. foundation; art collector
  • Cokkie Snoei, gallery owner
  • Rob Sonnemans, friend Emmo Grofsmid and Karmin Kartowikromo
  • Hans Sonnenberg, gallery owner
  • Diana Wind, director Stedelijk Museum Schiedam


Bank account MK Award Foundation

All gifts and donations to MK Award Foundation can be transferred to our bank account at Triodos Foundation in Zeist/NL.
Bank account number: 2000317677,

also stating ‘STF MK-award’, Zeist/NL
IBAN: NL09 TRIO 2000317677

Stichting MK Award
Gedempte Zalmhaven 761
3011 BT Rotterdam
The Netherlands
Chamber of commerce: 54218888
RSIN: 851218003