15 December 2017

Peter Fengler winner MK Award 2017


Artist Peter Fengler is winner of the MK Award 2017, its third edition. Reyn van der Lugt, chairman of the jury announced this on Friday evening December 1 during a festive ceremony at TENT Rotterdam. The jury is impressed by the ways Peter Fengler is consistently building a coherent body of work at the crossroads [...]

Lees Meer…

30 November 2017

Video portraits 2017


Especially for the MK Award Marieke van der Lippe was commissioned to make two beautiful video-portraits of the MK Award nominees.

Lees Meer…

21 November 2017

Performances Peter Fengler


In the context of MK Award 2017 Peter Fengler will organise two performances: ‘Le départ’ A departure time, comments and consequences with Max Moolenaar and Peter Fengler. Monday 27 November 23.59 hrs – 2.00 hrs ‘J’arrive’ A suicidal performance, arrival and final applause with Reinier van Houdt, Gerard Herman and Peter Fengler. Wednesday 29 November [...]

Lees Meer…

27 October 2017

Exhibition MK Award 2017

TENT Rotterdam - Foto Aad Hoogendoorn (22)

Friday November, 17 at 6 p.m. will see the opening, at TENT Rotterdam of a special exhibition presenting new work by Peter Fengler, Saskia Janssen and Ad de Jong, the nominees for the MK Award 2017. This year, at the fifth anniversary of the MK Award Foundation, sees the third edition of the MK Award. [...]

Lees Meer…

2 October 2017

Last post for Hans Sonnenberg (1928-2017)


Hans Sonnenberg, 25 September 2017, photo Vincent Mentzel It is with great sadness that the board of MK Award Foundation has heard about the passing of Hans Sonnenberg. With him, we loose a Great Friend. Hans Sonnenberg, the undisputed Nestor of the Rotterdam art world, served as chairman of the foundation’s Advisory Council. When we [...]

Lees Meer…

20 April 2017

Melanie Bonajo nominee for Prix de Rome


As was announced today, Melanie Bonajo, in 2013 winner of the first MK Award, has been nominated for the shortlist-of-four for the Prix de Rome 2017, the most prestigious art prize in the Netherlands. The international jury “[...] is delighted by the tender, playful and engaged manner by which Bonajo crushes taboos, confronting her audience [...]

Lees Meer…

11 April 2017

Shortlist MK Award 2017 announced

TENT Rotterdam - Foto Aad Hoogendoorn (22)

Recently, the jury for the MK Award 2017 picked the shortlist: visual artists Peter Fengler, Saskia Janssen and Ad de Jong. The MK Award, amounting to € 5.000, is a biennial tribute to the ideas and ideals of Emmo Grofsmid (1951-2011) and Karmin Kartowikromo (1948-2011) of the former MKgallery Rotterdam/Berlin. Presided over by the Rotterdam [...]

Lees Meer…

30 September 2016

Debate Destination Rotterdam


Saturday 17 September the debate ‘Destination Rotterdam’ took place in Tent Rotterdam. A photo impression by Aad Hoogendoorn.

Lees Meer…

19 September 2016

3rd Edition MK Award in 2017

Processed with Snapseed.

The MK Award Foundation is announcing the third edition of the MK Award, which started in 2013. The foundation is aiming to present the three nominees, and the final award ceremony in the fall of 2017 at Witte de Withstraat in Rotterdam. These will be co-produced by the Centre for Visual Arts Rotterdam. An independent [...]

Lees Meer…

5 September 2016

Destination Rotterdam, double debate in TENT

RIB_opening_Micha Zweifel_web

On Saturday 17 September, the MK Award Foundation, in collaboration with TENT, is organising a ‘double debate’ on the vitality of Rotterdam’s art scene. Despite budget cuts and austerity policies, in the past five years, all kinds of new initiatives, such as home galleries, presentation platforms, project spaces, and agencies, are playing an increasingly important [...]

Lees Meer…